Understand the limited ordering rule

FDA's cosmetics labeling guide describes listing ingredients in descending order of predominance, with specified exceptions. Ingredients present at 1 percent or less may be listed in any order after those above 1 percent, and color additives have their own treatment. This is useful context for reading a list, but it does not disclose a numerical formula. A reader cannot safely turn the seventh position into a percentage or assume equal amounts for adjacent entries.

Do not infer a concentration from a product title

Purple Ginseng, Holy Hydration and olive-oil based language highlight a product story, not a measured extract or active percentage. The current selected sources do not supply a percentage for every ingredient. This site therefore does not rank the products by a fabricated concentration, calculate a skin-delivered dose or translate a marketing emphasis into a laboratory result. A prominent ingredient photo is not a quantitative declaration either.

Keep ingredient identity and efficacy separate

Finding a named ingredient in the list does not establish that the finished cleanser has a disease-treatment effect or a particular clinical outcome. A rinse-off product's actual use, formulation and evidence would need review for any such claim. Melt Index remains a purchase reference and does not prescribe acne treatment, evaluate pore safety or calculate an individual routine. It records the current online text and the limits of that record.

Ask for the missing evidence directly

If a buyer requires a specific concentration for a defined reason, request an exact manufacturer statement for the current selected SKU rather than estimating from list order. If the manufacturer does not disclose it, record unknown. Do not average other brand claims or borrow a percentage from a serum containing a similarly named ingredient. The finder deliberately returns text presence and format information, leaving undisclosed percentages unresolved instead of inventing a precise answer.

A longer list is not a concentration measurement

The number of ingredient names also cannot rank how much of a highlighted ingredient is present. One formula may use a supplied mixture whose components are declared individually, while another may have a shorter sequence. The current evidence does not permit a quantitative comparison based on list length. The same limitation applies to counting botanical names or words associated with hydration. Use the list to identify what is stated, then request a manufacturer disclosure if an actual percentage is essential. If no such disclosure is available for the exact current product, the honest field remains unknown.

Sources & scope

Checked November 4, 2026. Manufacturer and retailer references support the specific statements. Dated displayed prices are not final checkout quotes, performance rankings or performance testing. This shopping reference does not replace the exact product label or qualified individual advice. Current received labels, formula-version history and independent clinical/content/commerce review remain pending.

FDA: Cosmetics Labeling Guide ↗

DHC US: Deep Cleansing Oil, selected SKU300 ↗

e.l.f. US: Holy Hydration regular SKU59910 ↗

Naturium US: Purple Ginseng Cleansing Balm ↗

Keep reading

Does a highlighted ingredient describe the whole cleanser? ↗

Are fragrance-free, unscented and botanical aroma interchangeable? ↗

What if the online ingredient list differs from the jar received? ↗